Stop the Merry-go-round so I can get in the tent!

mgr.jpgLately I feel like I am on one of those playground merry-go-rounds, ever feel that way?

We have been so busy lately that it is insane. Between Ignite last Friday, Kelly’s art show she was in charge of the night before, stuff the kids have going on like baseball and homework and whatever else is going on. I feel like I am on the merry go round and it is going so fast all I can do is hang on and either wait for it to slow down or jump off.

Well, this Friday I am jumping off, into a tent. We are going camping for the first time as a family, actually it will be the first time ever for this Jersey boy. We are going with some really good friends that camp a lot. They asked if we would like to go with them and see what it is like.

The best part is a statement our friend Lisa made… “Once we get set up, you will ask what’s next and we will say nothing, just relax.”

Wow, what a profound statement, “just relax”. This probably could not have come at a better time. Our family desperately needs that right now.

Now, Kara’s birthday is Friday and we asked her, since we are going camping what do you want to eat Friday for your birthday, she said Pizza Hut! So, that’s how we are going to start our weekend of roughing it, eating Pizza Hut. 🙂

I will share how things went and how Jersey boy here made it through the weekend. I am sure I will have some story of something dumb I did.

I am hoping the better story will be how I was still, something God expects from us but yet we expect The GOD of the Universe to get on the merry-go-round and talk to us there. It’s not going to happen, he may still try to talk to us from the side but we are going so fast we only catch a few words as we circle around. “I…….AM……Waiting……” is about all we will hear as we go around and around.

He will stop if we don’t, I am thankful the He will wait for us… to talk, to listen to teach. But he should not have to wait, He wants us to be still and I don’t know about you but I get dizzy after a while on a merry-go-round. So, this weekend will be time for me and my family to stop and be still.

Leave a Reply

