Challenged

To be challenged, is it a good thing or a bad thing? I guess it depends on what you do with the challenge and what is being challenged.

Right now I am feeling challenged on playing guitar in the worship band and my view of worship in general, and I don’t think it is a bad thing.


Now for those reading this, NO, I am not planning to bail on playing guitar or up and leave the Five Stones Band. Since that is now out of the way let me explain more.

Coming from a rock band background I feel like I constantly try to remind myself why I do what I do, and that answer is I don’t do it for me. But there are times where I get the pat on the back for a good guitar solo or something and I struggle, I like the encouragement but I feel guilty because I don’t want it to go to my ego.

I constantly remind myself that there are people better than me and God has given me this opportunity to play in a ministry role which I love, but can I love it too much?

I don’t see myself answering any of these questions, just trying to be honest about what goes on in my head sometimes.

Church is not just about the style of music, I have a preference but that does not mean other styles are invalid. But can I put too much importance on that sometimes? Possibly, although I think (and hope, and pray) that recognizing that is the important part and helps me keep a balanced view.

I thank my wife for pointing out that when she was in Africa for a mission trip they worshiped with no instruments and she said worship was amazing. As a musician that is hard to think about but there again is the reminder, it’s not about me. God wants our attention… through words, singing and if available instruments. Instruments are an add on, not the foundation. I love to play guitar, but as long as loving to play guitar is not above loving to worship I think I can keep balance.

Anyone else understand where I am coming from? If so, share some comments.

Leave a Reply

