John C. Maxwell book Review

 

Everyone communicates few connect is the latest book by John C. Maxwell. I will say, I have been a fan of his for a long time so my expectations were very high, and I was not disappointed.

 

 

One thing that was different about this book was the fact that John took time to get stories from his readers on how communication played a part in leadership. Tie that in with John’s humor, storytelling and facts and it is a great read with many practical points to learn, re-learn and make a part of your daily routine.

One story / point that really hit me, and there were many, was the story about a professor that gave a quiz and the last question was “What is the first name of the woman who cleans the school?” They thought it was a joke. At the end of class someone asked if that question would count. His response? “Absolutely, in your careers, you will meet many people. All are significant. They deserve your attention and care, even if all you do is smile and say hello.” I put that on my lock screen of my phone to help me remember it. It takes making an effort to connect at that level with anyone and to me that is what it all comes down to, making the effort. That is usually the thing we don’t feel like.

Again there are many great pieces of information and stories so I highly recommend this book to anyone, and I should say everyone. Connecting is part of life, thanks Mr. Maxwell for your God given talents.

Leave a Reply

