God gave me what I asked for, except the title of “rockstar”

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

That is always a great verse and many times our plan is not His, and many times our plan “B” is His plan “A” so we need to be careful how hard we hold on to our plan.

It is crazy how we think we know best.
Like when my kids would be playing ball and it bounces in the street, their first thought and focus is all about getting the ball but as a parent we see the big picture and yell out to them “STOP! Make sure no cars are coming!”

We can get so focused on what we are involved in that we lose sight of not only impending danger but the good things God has for us.  So…

When I first started playing guitar it was magical to me, as I got better there was a connection. It’s allowed me to communicate in a different way, playing out my feelings.

There was a point though where as I watched the late 80’s & early 90’s hair bands, guitarists and other musicians and I knew that is what I wanted to do. I wanted to play my guitar full time, make good music, travel and play concerts all over the world. And if I am completely honest, be admired by guys and adored by girls. The life of a rockstar is what I wanted!

Well, after going through a period of being in different bands, recording demos, doing showcases for record labels and having the chance to be the opener for various national recording artists.  I felt like we were so close but something happened in the midst of all of that and I ended up leaving the band.

Many things happened along the way, too much to get into here but the biggest was getting my world rocked and changed by God. One of the things I knew after this happened was that if I ever had an opportunity to play in a band again I wanted to not do it for me and my ego but a focus on God.

After a move to NC I was not even sure I would play in a band again. I have chatted about the transition to playing in church before (Here) but what I have come to realize and appreciate so much is He has given me what I wanted. I have not traveled the world, I don’t seek admiration from guys or girls, I don’t get to do it full time, but…

I have played in front of hundreds if not thousands every week for the past 15 or so years at two different churches, in front of youth groups, men’s ministries, Camps/retreats, etc. with a group of musicians that many times I can’t believe I get to play with. God has taken my tiny bit of talent, given to me by Him, and has given me opportunities that have been amazing!

Am I a rock star? No.

But what I get to be a part of is bigger, it’s helping point people to the creator of the universe. How can I go wrong as long as I keep Him as my focus and He continues to allow me to do something I love for His Glory!

Leave a Reply

